Loading…Google Custom Search for www.mcc.edu

The Aspen Institute Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Top 150 2017

Motorcycle Safety Program

Mott Community College sponsors the Motorcycle Safety Program in conjunction with the Michigan Department of Traffic Safety and the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. All courses held at our Southern Lakes Branch Center - Fenton (SLBC) .

MCC offers a Motorcycle Safety Basic Training and Returning Rider Course.

The Motorcycle Safety Education courses offered by this agency are conducted with state funds from a motorcycle safety grant administered by the Michigan Department of State.

Registration begins

February 1, 2016

Registration Form 

For more information and registration, please contact us at (810) 762-0390.
All Courses held at Southern Lakes Branch Center - Fenton (SLBC).

Motorcycle Safety Training at Southern Lakes Branch Center

All sessions are held at MCC's Southern Lakes Branch Campus in Fenton, MI.

Motorcycle Safety Basic Training

Course Sessions - 4/22/16 through 7/10/16

View Information and Schedule

This course is structured for students who:

  • want to learn to ride safely
  • have failed the riding skills test twice
  • are at least age 15 or older and able to ride a 2-wheel bicycle

This course is geared to students with little or no experience on a motorcycle. This training covers the mental and physical aspects of riding, protective gear, common and special riding situations. The weekend class is Friday nights, 5:30-9:30 p.m. with Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.; and Sunday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. (except where noted).

  • On Saturday and Sunday the class will be separated into 2 or 4 hour blocks. We cannot guarantee any specific times, so you must be available for the full day. Students are required to be on-site only when scheduled.
  • Written and Skills tests will be administered. Upon successful completion of this course, participants will receive an MSF certificate that waives the motorcycle riding test required by the Secretary of State (SOS). However, you still need to take the written test at the SOS office.
  • The weeknight Basic Rider course runs each evening from 5:30-9:30 p.m., Monday through Friday and covers the same materials. It is a little slower paced, with more time to absorb the information.

You must be on time for all class sessions. Instructors will wait only 5 minutes. If you do not arrive on time, your place will be given to an alternate. No-shows who wish to sign up for another session must pay an additional $25 registration fee. Availability is limited and classes fill very fast.

Upon successful completion of the State approved Motorcycle Safety course (both the knowledge and skills tests) the Secretary of State will waive the required riding skills test for motorcycle license endorsement. However, a short written test will still be given by the Secretary of State’s Office at the time of license application. In addition, a more extensive written test will be given as part of this course.

 NOCR   = Course is  FULL  NOCR   = Course is Canceled

Course Number Dates
2016
Class Day(s) Time Cost Materials / Supplies
NOCR-ID200-01 04/22-24 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 9am - 7:00pm Su- 9am - 7:00pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-02 04/29-05/01 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 9am - 7:00pm Su- 9am - 7:00pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-03 05/13-15 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 9am - 7:00pm Su- 9am - 7:00pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-04 06/03-05 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-05 06/10-12 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-06 06/13-17 M-F (Mornings) 8:30am - 12:30pm     $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-07 06/17-19 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-08 06/24-26 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-09 06/27-07/01 M-F (Evenings) 5:30 - 9:30pm     $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-10 07/08-10 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below

“NEW”

Motorcycle Safety Basic Training with New eCourse

Course Sessions - 7/11/16 through 9/25/16

View Information and Schedule

The MSF Basic RiderCourse is designed for beginning riders of ages 15 and up. The State of Michigan - Motorcycle Safety Foundation is offering a new; state-mandated online pre-requisite eCourse, which is required prior to enrollment into the hands-on training/skills courses. Open registration for the Basic Rider Skills Course will begin on July 1, 2016 at Mott Community College-Southern Lakes Branch Center (Fenton). The Basic eCourse that you complete at home before attending your first formal classroom session is a highly interactive online program that provides riders of all skill levels with the basics of motorcycling. With integrated graphics, photos and video to help better illustrate the lessons, the $19.99 (paid to MSF) program allows you to control the pace of your learning.

In the classroom, you’ll learn about the different types of motorcycles, layout and operation of the basic controls, and how to become a safer, more responsible rider. You’ll then move to the riding range where your MSF- certified RiderCoach will guide you through the basic skills of straight-lin riding, stopping, shifting, and turning, gradually progressing to swerving and emergency braking. Motorcycles are provided free of charge for your use during the course. The Basic Rider Skills Course is $25.00 (paid to MCC).

Requirements:

  • Online pre-requisite course at (http://www.msf-usa.org/digital.aspx).
  • Certificate expires 30-days after class (This certificate is not a permit or license and may not be used as such)
  • Certificate MUST be printed and submitted at the time of registration for the Basic Rider course.
  • Valid Michigan Driver’s License
  • Materials/Supplies

The  Walk-in Policy does not apply to the Basic Rider Courses beginning after July 10, 2016.

If you have any questions, please contact the Southern Lakes Branch Center office at (810) 762-0390.

Course Number Dates
2016
Class Day(s) Time Cost Materials / Supplies
NOCR-ID200-11 07/11-15 M-F (Evenings) 5:30 - 9:30pm     $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-12 07/15-17 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-13 07/22-24 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-14 07/29-31 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-15 08/01-05 M-F (Evenings) 5:30 - 9:30pm     $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-16 08/12-14 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-17 08/19-21 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-18 08/26-28 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-19 09/09-11 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-20 09/16-18 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below
NOCR-ID200-21 09/23-25 FSU (Weekend) F- 5:30 - 9:30pm Sa- 8am - 6:30pm Su- 8am - 6:30pm $25 See Notes Below

Returning Basic Rider Course

View Information and Schedule

This one-day course is designed for the rider who has been away from the sport for a time or the experienced rider who needs to become licensed. Many experienced riders use this course as a refresher. Topics include braking, counter-steering, turning, turning speed judgment and other techniques to operate a motorcycle with skill and safety. Mott Community College recommends that you provide your own properly-titled and registered motorcycle. Proof of insurance and passing a cycle safety inspection will be required. Your riding abilities will be evaluated during the first two range exercises. These skills include clutch/throttle control, stopping, shifting, negotiating roadway turns. You will not be able to continue if you do not demonstrate adequate basic riding skills and no refund will be given. Successful completion of the course waives the Secretary of State riding skills test.

 NOCR   = Course is FULL  NOCR   = Course is Canceled

Course Number Dates Class Day(s) Time Cost Location
NOCR-ID250-01 5/21 S 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. $25 SLBC
NOCR-ID250-02 5/22 U 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. $25 SLBC

 Walk-in Policy

The Walk-in Policy only applies to Basic Rider Courses starting April 22-July 8, 2016.

If you are attempting to enter a full class, you may choose to come as a walk-in. The rules are as follows:

  1. Walk-in's are on a "first come-first served" basis.
  2. We will give out numbers at 4:30 p.m. for the 5:30 p.m. classes. Students arriving before 3:00 p.m. are asked to use an honor system.
  3. One number per person will be distributed (no holding an extra number for a buddy).
  4. Attendance is taken at 5:35 p.m. and if there are “no shows” from the class roster, we will start with the person with #1 and call their name (YOU MUST BE PRESENT WHEN YOUR NAME IS CALLED).
  5. Students must have a valid Michigan Drivers License, Social Security number or card and $25.00 (non-refundable/non-transferable). We ask that you bring exact change if you are paying with cash.

We will continue this process until all “no-show” seats are filled. We do not guarantee that there will be “no-shows”.

If you have additional questions regarding the walk-in policy, please call us at: (810) 762-0390.

Thank you for choosing Mott.

 Refund/Transfer Policy

All classes are non-refundable, non-transferable upon registration.

 Class Materials/Supplies Requirement

The following items are required to register:

  • For all participants a valid Michigan Drivers License
  • eCourse students must provide their eCourse Certificate at the time of registration

All participants must bring the following equipment to all sessions:

  • Eye protection – goggles.
  • Gloves, sturdy and full-fingered
  • Long sleeve shirt/jacket and long pants
  • Sturdy over-the-ankle leather boots – ”tennis shoes” are not acceptable
  • Valid Michigan Drivers License
  • Course manual - provided in class
  • Waiver Form- provided in class
  • You must bring your own approved DOT Certified Helmet

The following materials are not required but highly recommended:

  • Sunscreen, sunglasses
  • Water
  • Pen, notebook
  • Rain gear – you will ride in light rain

Your $25.00 registration fee is non-refundable and non-transferable. You must be on time for your class. Instructors will wait until five minutes after scheduled start times on Friday, and Monday (morning/evening classes) to take attendance. If you are not in the classroom for attendance, your position will be given to an alternate (walk-in). No shows that desire to sign up for another class must pay an additional $25.00 registration fee. Classes fill up fast, availability is limited.

If you have any questions regarding the class, please call (810) 762-0390.

February 8, 2016