Mott Community College Safe Water Pledge The Aspen Institute Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Top 150 2019

Writing Awards

Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2017-2018 MCC Writing Awards



Beverly Blevins Developmental Writing Award

Beverly Blevins taught developmental writing at MCC and was a dedicated teacher who was very committed to her students. Her life and career at MCC were cut short by cancer, and this award is given in her memory.

Personal Essay

(First) Destne Porter
(Second) Savanna Long

Reader-Response Essay

(First) Bethanie Rodgers
(Second) Pamela Risinger

Anna Bradley Writing Award

Anna Bradley enjoyed a long, successful career at MCC and retired as one of the most respected faculty members ever to teach at the college. This award is presented in her honor.


(First) Kimberly Coombs
(Second) Alexandria LaSalle
(Third) Danielle Smith

Research/Critical Essay

(First) Briana Hartwig
(Second) Matthew Carpenter
(Third) Briana Hartwig

Short Fiction

(First) Coner Segren

Sharon Naughton Poetry Award

Sharon Naughton taught at MCC for more than 30 years, was coordinator of Developmental English, and was a superb, well-loved teacher. She retired in December 1998, and this award is given in recognition of her huge contribution to the college and her students.

Sharon Naughton Poetry Award

(First) Kimberly Glazier
(Second) Jacqueline Gallant
(Third) Rachel Gonser

Bommarito Family Outstanding Student Award

The winner of this award has exhibited such strengths as positive spirit and attitude, strong work ethic, helpfulness to others, creative facility of self-expression and writing skill, contributions to an outstanding classroom environment, and ability to more than meet life’s challenges. These qualities were exemplified in beloved MCC teacher, poet, and artist, Joseph Bommarito , in whose name this honor is awarded.

Bommarito Family Outstanding Student Award

Mitzy Johnson

April 17, 2018
Mott Tree Logo