Mott Community College Safe Water Pledge The Aspen Institute Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Top 150 2021

MCC student leadership society inducts 50 new members and honors faculty


Amanda LeMaster and Darrin Arbor
Amanda LeMaster and Darrin Arbor
Dr. Jjenna Andrews and Gwen Hopkins
Dr. Jjenna Andrews and Gwen Hopkins

The MCC chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (Sigma Alpha Pi), inducted 50 new members for the Fall Semester, and awarded three National Engaged Leaders recognitions and three Excellence in Teaching awards Dec. 9.

The ceremony was the culmination of a years’ worth of work. Sigma Alpha Pi is for students with a 2.7GPA or higher, have completed 9 credits, and are enrolled for the Fall or Winter Semester at MCC. Membership requirements include completion of: an orientation, a leadership training day, three speaker broadcasts, and three Success Networking Team meetings.

Additionally, three members completed the requirements to receive the National Engaged Leader Award (NELA), which constitutes competing three additional speaker broadcasts, three additional Success Networking Team meetings, and five hours of community service.

The group also recognized three faculty and one staff member with awards:
Dianne McClure was given Honorary Membership in Sigma Alpha Pi because of her support of the group and facilitation of meetings and events.

Amanda LeMaster, Psychology faculty, was presented with an Excellence in Teaching Award for creating a welcoming learning environment and her desire for her students to succeed. “She makes Psychology class enjoyable and makes time to talk to students outside of class and office hours. It is clear that she believes in the students of Mott Community College,” said Dawn Vanniman, Director of Student Life and advisor for the Sigma Alpha Pi.

Joshua Sauvie, English faculty, was also presented with an Excellence in Teaching Award for consistently making himself available to students in and out of class, and giving thoughtful input. “He makes lectures interesting and engaging, takes students seriously and values their input. He is always happy to discuss career options and transferring to universities,” said Vanniman.

Dr. Jjenna Andrews, Fine Arts faculty, was presented with the third Excellence in Teaching Award for creating a warm teaching environment. “She gently guides students and allows their creativity to flow. Dr. Andrews provides an excellent role model for any student in the art field. It’s wonderful to see her work on campus creating conversation,” Vanniman said.

One Chapter Award was presented:
Jake Duffiney was awarded a gift card and a Sigma Alpha Pi messenger bag for his work on a Book Drive. Jake came to the Chapter Advisor in April 2017 after talking to his favorite high school teacher about the lack of a school library. He requested the MCC Sigma Alpha Pi Chapter host a book drive to create a classroom library. He involved the Chapter in putting up donation boxes in Student Life, the MCC Library and MCC Math Empowerment Center; he also involved the Burton area Gordon Food Service store. By May, a total of 2,000 books had been collected and sorted. Book collection continued through the end of August, and cataloging and sorting is ongoing, according to Vanniman.

The Fall 2017 National Society of Leadership and Success Inductees are:
Bianca Aguirre – Swartz Creek
Elijah Allen – Flint
Pamela Anderson – Flushing
Darrin Arbor – Flint
Grant Barrera – Flint
Lydia Baudoux – Grand Blanc
Divinewill Benson – Grand Blanc
Ashley Boasten – Saginaw
Michael Burke II – Flint
Ashley Cantley – Fenton
Shelby Dimick – Clio
Cyndi Edwards – Mount Morris
Jacqueline Gallant – Fenton
Jose De Jesus Gomez Macias – Rochester
Lauren Gould – Burton
Tiffini Gray – Columbiaville
Angel Grondin – Flint
Alexis Hanson – Goodrich
Briana Hartwig – Metamora
Santiago Hernandez – Grand Blanc
Michael Herzog – Grand Blanc
Gwendolyn Hopkins – Millington
Jenna Horton – Mount Morris
Hailey Jennings – Clio
Hannah Kaminski – Grand Blanc
Cameron Kelley – Grand Blanc
Janine Keyes – Attica
Brian Krupp – Montrose
Karina Lewis – Flint
Cameron Lomax – Grand Blanc
Celeste Madsen – Burton
Sharita Maltbia – Flint
Rachel Meyer – Goodrich
Kelli Moore – Flint
Sylvia Moore – Flint
Dustin Mosure – Columbiaville
Alicia Neilsen – Otisville
Katherine Palmer – Grand Blanc
Christy Patten – Columbiaville
Makenzie Payne – Grand Blanc
James Quasarano – Linden
Sarah Ricksgers – Lapeer
Dominique Ricotta – North Branch
Jonathon Ross – Flushing
Kayla Schilling – Fenton
Coner Segren – Flint
Asherah Shepherd – Flint
Melvin Strickland – Flint
Allisha Szcodronski – Fenton
Thomas Thornton – Grand Blanc

There were three NELA (National Engaged Leader Awards)
Elizabeth Draeger – Linden
Jacob Duffiney – Burton
Melissa Ruboyianes – Flushing

Mott Community College is committed to excellence in education and offering services that cultivate student success and improve the overall quality of life in a multicultural community. With more than 100 academic and occupational degree programs, we help students prepare to achieve more in an ever-changing economy. Through university transfer agreements, high-demand associate's degree programs and one-year certification programs, we help ensure that all Mott students are ready to get more out of life.

As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law. Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2030G), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024. Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1024), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0373. Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-1130), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0191.

For important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended these programs, please see the following link:


June 15, 2018
Mott Tree Logo