Mott Community College Safe Water Pledge The Aspen Institute Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Top 150 2019

MCC student leadership society inducts 58 new members


Harley Brown, outgoing president of NSLS, Elijah Allen and Briana Hartwig.
Harley Brown, outgoing president of NSLS, Elijah Allen and Briana Hartwig.

The Mott Community College chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (Sigma Alpha Pi), inducted 58 new members for the Winter Semester, and awarded six National Engaged Leaders recognitions, an Excellence in Teaching award and an Excellence in Service Award on April 28.

The ceremony was the culmination of a years’ worth of work. Sigma Alpha Pi is for students with a 2.7GPA or higher, have completed nine credits, and are enrolled for the Fall or Winter Semester at MCC. Membership requirements include completion of: an orientation, a leadership training day, three speaker broadcasts, and three Success Networking Team meetings.

Additionally, six members completed the requirements to receive the National Engaged Leader Award (NELA), which constitutes competing three additional speaker broadcasts, three additional Success Networking Team meetings, and five hours of community service.

The group also recognized a faculty and a staff member with awards:
James Shurter, Associate Professor, Art and Design Program Coordinator, was presented with an Excellence in Teaching Award for his mentoring and passion for students that goes
above and beyond every time. According to students, Shurter has a way of drawing out even the quietest of students, showcasing their talents and leading them down the path of success. “Additionally, Jim’s association with the Greater Flint American Advertising Federation brings student work to a larger audience each year and is richly celebrated,” said Dawn Vanniman, interim Athletic Accounts Coordinator and advisor for the Sigma Alpha Pi.

Shannon Halbedel was awarded the Excellence in Service Award. Halbedel is a TRiO Coordinator at MCC who puts students, their goals and their success in the forefront of her daily task list. “Shannon is an amazing woman, great example, and huge motivator for her students,” said Vanniman. “She is always encouraging and uplifting, her passion for her students’ progress is evident in her actions and communications, and she is approachable, which makes a HUGE impact on students looking for help.”

Five Chapter Awards were presented:
Angela Robinson was recognized for her commitment to completing the induction process.
Kendr’ya Hill was recognized for securing an internship with the Genesee County Courts.
Jacquie Gallant was recognized for her work as the Co-Membership Outreach Chair for NSLS.
Harley Brown was recognized for serving two years as Chapter president and for moving the Chapter forward to achieve its goals.
Kimberly Dolejsi was recognized for her work as Advisor to the Chapter.

Winter 2018 National Society of Leadership and Success Inductees are:
Aaron Ackley, of Flint
Arden Anderson, of Fenton
Patience Anderson, of Fenton
James Baade, of Flushing
Shavonne Banks, of Flint
Lisa Marie Bates, of Davison
Sam Bearup, of Burton
Caitlin Boskee, of Lapeer
Seema Botz, of Linden
Sarah Brown, of Flint
Sabrina Cairnduff, of Davison
Michael Caster, of Swartz Creek
DeRiko Catron, of Flint
Kathleen Cunningham, of Brown City
Bradley Dawson, of Fenton
Mathew Denny, of Fenton
Jasmine Edmond, of Flint
Gage Fellows, of Grand Blanc
Madison Gerry, of Davison
Danielle Gross, of Swartz Creek
Ashton Hanna, of Columbiaville
Kendr’ya Hill, of Flint
Matthew Hunyady, of Metamora
Kevin Kane, of Otisville
Shauawna Kenney, of Flint
Brendan Kline, of Grand Blanc
Eric Kobus, of Flushing
Kayla Laird, of Flushing
Hollie Lalonde, of Flint
Austin Lamb, of Clio
Alyssabeth Merrow, of Grand Blanc
Jennifer Monaghan, of Fostoria
Hayden Neva, of Flushing
Margee Nickola, of Flint
Ryan Olsen, of Grand Blanc
Jessica Owens, of Flint
Lenora Price, of Mount Morris
Zachary Rabine, of Swartz Creek
Michelle Rigby, of Flint
Angela Robinson, of Swartz Creek
Amber Rossi, of Swartz Creek
Jacob Rousseau, of Grand Blanc
Madison Schmitt, of Hadley
Vincent Shelman, of Grand Blanc
Elaine Simpson, of Grand Blanc
Antoinne Smith, of Flint
Alec Strickland, of Saginaw
Shawn O’Brien Taylor, of Clio
DaMenique Morris-Thornton, of Burton
Morgan Townsend, of Davison
Verdia Tyler, of Mount Morris
Tyler Uhlian, of Davison
Dominga Ward, of Owosso
Martez Warren Jr., of Grand Blanc
Heather Welker, of Fenton
Deborah Whelton, of Fenton
Anoopa Woodward, of Flint
Tyler Zimmerman, of Swartz Creek

There were five NELA (National Engaged Leader Awards)
Elijah Allen, of Flint
Jalyn Brown, of Flint
Jacqueline Gallant, of Fenton
Briana Hartwig, of Metamora
Gwendolyn Hopkins, of Millington
Allisha Szcodronski, of Fenton

Mott Community College is committed to excellence in education and offering services that cultivate student success and improve the overall quality of life in a multicultural community. With more than 100 academic and occupational degree programs, we help students prepare to achieve more in an ever-changing economy. Through university transfer agreements, high-demand associate's degree programs and one-year certification programs, we help ensure that all Mott students are ready to get more out of life.

As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law. Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2030G), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024. Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1024), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0373. Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-1130), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0191.

For important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended these programs, please see the following link:


June 15, 2018
Mott Tree Logo