I am PTK

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the International Honor Society. Since 1918, PTK has recognized academic excellence and more than 3.8 million members have been inducted at over 1300 chapters. Our members have opportunities to win scholarships, attend conferences, host retreats, use their classroom knowledge to solve real world issues, and of course, have fun!

PTK Board Summit Front Row (L to R): Dr. Brian Ivory (co-advisor), Travis Justice (Service and Chapter Affairs), Montana Bishop (Budget and Fundraising), Lauren Igram (Public Relations and Social Media). Back Rom (L to R): Peyton Tipton (PTK President), Melissa Nowak (Recruitment and Orientation), Jordan Taylor (Induction and Membership), Choris Shafer (Scholarship and Transfer Readiness), Kim Giacchina (co-advisor).

Benefits of membership in this prestigious organization include:

  • A golden key pin
  • Phi Theta Kappa certificate, transcript notation
  • Phi Theta Kappa diploma seal
  • The right to wear honor regalia at graduation
    • The gold and blue cords
    • Golden stole and tassel
  • Subscription to Society publications
  • Eligibility for scholarships
  • Including many excellent transfer scholarships to Michigan universities

Alpha Omicron Iota is the local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Mott Community College. It was founded on April 10,1989 by Dr. Gail Knapp. To be eligible for full membership in the Alpha Omicron chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, you must be enrolled in a program at Mott leading to an Associate's Degree, have completed 12 credits that count toward the degree, have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, and have full rights of citizenship in your country. Each semester, the chapter advisor and membership coordinator mail invitations to all eligible students giving them information about the next orientation and induction.

Don't quite have a 3.5 yet? No problem! We are always happy to accept provisional members to assist with Phi Theta Kappa projects and events.


Frequently Asked Questions

Chapter Officers

  • Interim Advisor: Dawn Vanniman
  • President: Jennifer Cronkright
  • Vice President of Chapter Affairs and Hallmarks: Shuaib Ayantayo
  • Vice President of Induction and Membership: Kelly Minto
  • Vice President of Public Relations and Outreach: Charles Kennedy
  • Vice President of Recruitment and Orientation: Macy Phillips
  • Vice President of Transfer Readiness and Scholarships: Karen Condi

Member Awards & Scholarships

  • 2022 Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award
  • Kira Mailey-Parker - All USA Scholarship Nominee from Mott
  • Ahmad Williams - All USA Scholarship Nominee from Mott
Fall 2019 Lawn Event Fall 2019 Lawn Event
2019 LOC Leadership Conferencers 2019 LOC Leadership Conferencers
Working Board Meeting Working Board Meeting
PTK Service Learning Project - Food Bank of Eastern Michigan PTK Service Learning Project - Food Bank of Eastern Michigan
Popcorn in the Curtice-Mott Student Lounge Popcorn in the Curtice-Mott Student Lounge
Winter 2020 Welcome Week Raffle Winner - Kara Turvey Winter 2020 Welcome Week Raffle Winner - Kara Turvey