2023 Student Art Show Awards

65th Annual Student Art Show May 19th - June 30, 2023
- Joseph Buffington

Art Show Announcement Award

Students from the Design Center (DESN-105/205) submit designs for consideration to serve as the announcement for the Student Art Show. The Art Faculty review these submissions and select a design that best represents the department, college, and our mission.

  • Art Show Announcement Award: Joseph Buffington

Department Awards

The Art Achievement Award winners are identified by the faculty on the basis of outstanding artistic merit and achievement in several studios and graphic design courses during their first and second years of study.

  • 1st Year Studio Art Achievement Award: Abi (Abigail) Andruszko
  • 1st Year Graphic Design Achievement Award: Nama Shikhtrab
  • 1st Year Photography Achievement Award: Kristen McClara
  • 2nd Year Studio Art Achievement Award: Allie (Alexandria) Schrems
  • 2nd Year Graphic Design Achievement Award: Hannah Hewitt
  • 2nd Year Photography Achievement Award: Mary Angst

Faculty Recognition Award

The Faculty Recognition Award recognizes advanced students who have demonstrated consistent dedication to the quality and scope of their work, tremendous growth throughout their time at Mott, and who show promise for a successful future. Nominated by members of the faculty, in their area of concentration, these awards may only be earned once during their studies at Mott. This year the awards go to:

  • Faculty Recognition Award - Studio Art: Brandon Emmons
  • Faculty Recognition Award - Graphic Design: Emily Ledbetter
  • Faculty Recognition Award - Photography: Michael Close
  • Faculty Recognition Award - Graphic Design: Outstanding Achievement as a Media Arts & Entertainment Technology Graduate: Nephratiti T. Givens

Loan Purchase Awards

  • Dr. Beverly Walker-Griffea - President Walker-Griffea Art Award: Ray Lum
  • Jason Wilson VP Student Academic Success - Art & Academic Success Award: April Middleton
  • AVP Dale Weighill - The Associate Vice President for Institutional Advancement Dale Weighill Thinks Your Art is Awesome Award:
    • Evelyn Cano
    • Becky Burkowski
    • Mayama Anter
  • Dr. Kevin Asman, Assoc. VP Academic - ASVP Award for Moving Imagery: Brandon Emmons
  • ASVP Dr. Rebecca Myszenski - The Myszenski Masterpiece Award: Becky Burkowski
  • Dr. Anar Guru, Dean Health and Human Services - The Soft Soul Award: Ray Lum
  • Dr Amy Gilley, Dean Arts and Humanities - Dean of Humanities & Fine Arts Choice for Outstanding Body of Artwork: Michael Close
  • Dr. Madonna Jackson, D ean Technology - Technology Loves Art Innovation Award: A. J.