Recognition for Global and Community Engagement

The MCC Office of Experiential Learning hosts an annual awards reception to recognize outstanding community engagement work by students, faculty, and community partners. Nominations may be submitted at any time for the four student awards, four Faculty and staff awards, or Community Partner Recognitions.

Global and Community Engagement Awards

Student Awards

Each year Mott recognizes distinguished students for their outstanding commitment to community engaged learning. These students understand the importance of the connection between academics and community engagement. They provide high quality service to meet a genuine agency need. They demonstrate civic and personal growth and take a leadership role to help address the needs of the community. They recognize the impact of their contributions for the betterment of the human condition, and they advocate for others to become leaders as citizens for the public good. Mott is pleased to recognize a special group of students whose efforts were especially heroic during the pandemic.

Katie MellengerKatie Mellenger
Lawrence PhillipsLawrence Phillips
Mickeely DiasMickeely Dias
Noel HalberstadtNoel Halberstadt

Faculty and Staff Awards

The faculty and staff at Mott are committed to prepare educated, engaged citizens; strengthen democratic values and civic responsibility; address critical societal issues, and contribute to the public good. Our faculty and staff have worked diligently to make this preparation possible by providing a mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in the context of community engaged learning. This was especially challenging during the 2020-21 academic year due to the global pandemic. Yet, some faculty and staff were relentless in their efforts and Mott is honored to recognize them.

  • Cathy Amboy
  • Janet Anthony
  • Jessica Esperanza
  • Kim Giacchina
  • Anar Guru
  • Brian Ivory
  • Kim Jeffries
  • Parmis Johnson
  • Jackie Knoll
  • Candice Munoz
  • Kristine Nevala
  • Lori Savage
  • Dinah Schaller
  • Jim Shurter

Community Partner Recognition


Through the efforts of community partners in Flint and Genesee County, MCC Students have the opportunity to engage in activities that address human and community needs while supporting student learning and development. This year, several community partners went out on a limb to make these educational partnerships possible during the difficult circumstances of the pandemic. They engaged in innovative collaboration with MCC faculty for reciprocity making it feasible for MCC as an institution of higher education to contribute to the public good. Mott is pleased to recognize these community partners whose distinguished efforts support community sustainability through community engaged learning.

Tamara Riggs at Carriage TownTamara Riggs at Carriage Town
Heidi Yost at Genesys PACEHeidi Yost at Genesys PACE
Dinah Schaller at Family Life CenterDinah Schaller at Lenore Croudy Family Life Center
Marisa Osborn at McFarlan HomeMarisa Osborn at McFarlan Home
Laura Nail at The Landings Laura Nail at The Landings
Gabriella Farren at Vicinia GardensGabriella Farren at Vicinia Gardens

Campus Compact Awards

The Newman Civic Fellowship recognizes and supports community-committed students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. The fellowship, named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman, provides training and resources that nurture students’ assets and passions to help them develop strategies to achieve social change. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need in order to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities.

Recipient: Mickeely Dias Mickeely Dias